Welcome to the Burnaby Teachers’ Association website

The BTA has been in existence since 1914 and is a union of professionals representing approximately 2,301 public school teachers in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada. All public school teachers in Burnaby belong to the BCTF (the British Columbia Teachers’ Federation) and their local teachers’ association.

The Burnaby Teachers’ Association supports members whenever there is any issue of concern. When members contact the union, all conversations are confidential. No matter what the question we welcome calls and will refer members to the appropriate services and resources. Among the services we provide:

  • mediation
  • advocacy
  • information about rights, responsibilities and benefits
  • professional development information
  • health and safety support
  • social events
  • classroom supports


BC Election Update

One sign of a thriving democracy is the involvement of its citizens.  Here is some of what’s happening between now and the election on May 9 that may interest you.


  • JOIN US – Burnaby teachers are doing a PHONE 4 ANNE evening on THURSDAY, April 27 from 4:30 to 7pm at her campaign office at 229-5000 Kingsway.  A light meal is provided. 
  • JOIN US – Burnaby teachers are doing a PHONE 4 KATRINA evening on WEDNESDAY, MAY 3 from 4:30 to 7pm at her campaign office at Lougheed Mall, 2nd Floor, 9855 Austin Ave.  A light meal is provided. 
  • JOIN US – Burnaby teachers are phoning their own members to get out the vote.  Join colleagues at the BTA office from 4:30 to 7pm from now to the election to get out the teacher vote.  A light meal is provided.  Call the BTA to sign up. 

Don’t forget to vote on Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Burnaby Teachers’ Association (BTA) Endorses NDP Candidates

At the January 31st, 2017 General Meeting of the Burnaby Teachers’ Association (BTA), members overwhelmingly passed a motion to endorse the following NDP candidates in the May 9th provincial election:

 Katrina Chen (Burnaby-Lougheed)

 Raj Chouhan (Burnaby-Edmonds)

 Anne Kang (Burnaby-Deer Lake)

 Janet Routledge (Burnaby North)


Current Publications


Upcoming Events/Meetings


Collective Agreement


Officers & Staff

Executive Officers:
FRANK BONVINO – President – lp41@bctf.ca – Local 226
LEANNE SJODIN – First Vice-President – lx41vp@bctf.ca – Local 227
DANIEL TÉTRAULT – Second Vice-President – lx41vp2@bctf.ca – Local 228

Office Staff
Katie Pepper – Office Manager- bta2@bctf.ca
Colleen Pawson – Administrative Assistant- bta@bctf.ca
Karla Reilander – Administrative Assistant – bta5@telus.net
Charmaine Eger – Administrative Assistant – bta4@telus.net